New year, new goals

I cannot believe another year has gone by. 2016 has seemed to be a strange,  dysfunctional year for many people, including myself. Personally, I think I started the year confused, insecure, and as somebody who was just not me. I ended 2016 knowing so much more about myself, and enjoying my life much more than I did in the beginning.

Everyone was talking about creating new years resolutions before the ball  dropped to begin 2017. I think that creating new years resloutions is great, but not if those are the only goals you set the whole year, because in that case you won’t get very far.

I truly believe that what led to my 2016 ending with joy and 2017 starting on a high note, was that I set goals for myself throughout the year. I picked out a big goal, and each and every day I would assign myself small goals that would eventually lead me to a bigger achievment. I had very broad goals throughout the year;  I wanted to find myself, I wanted to be more thankful for what I have, I wanted to spend more time with my family, get good grades, etc. I knew that I couldn’t simply state that these were my goals, and then expect to acheive them. I had to work hard on myself. I had to remind myself daily of what I wanted to achieve. I learned that in order to get to those big goals, I had to remember them and take steps toward them every single day.

I started 2016 not knowing who I was at all, so I tried to brainstorm what I could do to get to know myself better. For example, dance classes were taking over my whole life. I had loved to dance in the past, but something was changing. I realized it was bothering me that I rarely had time with my family. Also, having so many dance classes made me very stressed out about school because I was too busy to study. Also, I had not tried a new activity in a long time, and I was more than ready to expand my horizons. In addition, I even found myself not enjoying dance as much because everything seemed out of balance. I decided to cut  way down on dance classes (from ten classes to just one!). I thought that doing this would help me to achieve several of my goals; finding more aspects of myself (exploring new interests), spending time with my family, and getting good grades. 

I also started this blog, which was something I really needed to do because I love to write, but I stopped writing for years because I had no time. My blog is helping me to discover thoughts of mine I didn’t exactly know I had. 

I started to read more, which is another interest of mine I wanted to add back into my life. I was also able to spend quality time with my family each night, and I was able to succeed in school while being less stressed. I have also been able to get involved in community service with my friends, which I am really loving!

My goal, or “new years resolution”, to begin 2017 is to just be a nicer person by going out of my way more often to help others, and to do things to make my own self happy. Once again, in order to acheive this I have to create daily goals to get me there. This year, I will always try to do “the nicer thing” in all situations, and I will try to perform acts of kindness just to put a smile on someone’s face. 

In addition to this, I will just continue to look for parts of myself that I may have forgotten and make other goals throughout the year to get me into the happiest state possible.

So, I think it’s great to make a goal to start the year, but I think it’s even better to be setting goals all the time. Try not to limit your goal-setting just to January 1st. I hope everyone had a great new year and holiday season. I also hope that 2017 will be an amazing year for everyone full of love and blessings and achievements. Allow yourself to learn and grow this year.

Love,

Jillian

IMG_1500 (1).jpg
My Papa Nelson, my inspiration.
Author: journeytojillianblog

Jillian. 14. 8th Grade. Confused. Searching. Writing my way through.

7 thoughts on “New year, new goals”

Leave a Reply

